Leos Roar for UBC Theatre & Film!

Leo Award Winners!

Visit the Leo Awards website

Congratulations to our many students faculty and alumni from UBC Theatre & Film whose artistry was recognised by Leo Awards this year and kudos to those whose work received a Leo.

The Motion Picture Arts & Sciences Foundation of British Columbia is a not-for-profit organization whose mission is to celebrate and promote the achievements of the British Columbia film and television industry through the presentation of an annual awards program – the Leo Awards.

…and the UBC Department of Theatre and Film’s 2014 Leo Awards winners are:


Best Motion Picture
Down River
James Brown, Ben Ratner, Andrew Halliwell, Jack Ong – Producers
Features the performance of UBC Theatre & English professor Jerry Wasserman


Best Student Production
Backward Fall (BFA 3rd Year Film Production project)
Film alumni Andrew Pollins, Mackenzie Bowen, James C. Gill, Mitchell Allen – Producers


Best Television Movie
Mr. Hockey: The Gordie Howe Story
Howard Baldwin, Karen Baldwin, Shawn Williamson, Stephen Hegyes, Ian Dimmerman, William J. Immerman, Mike Ilitch Jr., Brendon Sawatsky, Brendan Ferguson – Producers
The film starred alumnus Michael Shanks (BFA Acting Theatre & Film) as Gordie Howe

Best Lead Performance by a Male in a Television Movie
Michael Shanks (BFA Acting Theatre & Film)
Mr. Hockey: The Gordie Howe Story

Best Screenwriting in a Dramatic Series
Simon Barry (Film Production Alumnus)
Continuum, Episode: Second Guessed

Best Guest Performance by a Female in a Dramatic Series
Camille Sullivan (BFA Acting Theatre & Film)
Played, Episode: Secrets

Best Performance by a Male in a Short Drama
Ryan Beil (BFA Acting Theatre and Film) Acting
Anxious Oswald Greene

Of the 15 nominations the film received, the cast and crew were awarded 13 statuettes, including the big prize for Best Short Drama, in addition to Best Direction, Best Screenwriting, Best Cinematography, Best Musical Score and Best Performance by a Male, all in the Short Drama category. In the 16 years the Motion Picture Arts & Sciences Foundation of BC has hosted the Leos, this is the most awards a single program has ever won.

For a full list of the 2014 Leo Award recipients see http://www.leoawards.com